Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The other day my husband and I were starving after a run outside. We were tired and did not feel like making a full dinner – something of an oddity. To dieters, runners and those trying to gain weight, food is so essential to keep going. For us, it was just before grocery day, so we had very little in the kitchen. I’m big on not wasting food, so by the end of the week there is slim picking for miscellaneous cooking/baking.

Thankfully we had some dried Chinese rice noodles in the cabinet along with some gingerroot in our fridge. I was instantly inspired to make ginger pasta, yum!!! I’ve never made any myself but have eaten it in other countries. I was inspired by this recipe I found here. I recreated the recipe to cater to our taste-buds. My husband gobbled up the entire bowl and as he was eating asked for it again on another day. That’s always a good sign.

Genki Kitty’s Recreated Ginger Pasta:
½ lb of dried Chinese Rice Noodles
¼ c rice vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce or Bragg’s
2 tbsp ginger root, unevenly chopped
1 tbsp light brown sugar
2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp sriracha

1. Boil the noodles according to the instructions. Asian noodles take a lot less time than Italian-style noodles; it should only take around 8 minutes. Rinse the noodles.
2. Combine all the ingredients minus the noodles and sesame seeds.
3. Heat the liquid mixture in a frying pan or wok for about 2 minutes until it starts to boil. Toss in the noodles and mix all around. Stir for another 2 minutes to assure that the noodles are completely covered.
4. Serve and Enjoy!

Note: If you are in a hurry but are starving, this is a wonderful dish to enjoy. Serve alongside a fresh salad or cooked veggies. It’s very filling and takes only minutes.

